Summer Fun on St. George Island

I usually write about refugee ministry and activities I am involved with because I want to bring awareness to my community (and beyond) of the continued needs of refugees once they are resettled. But today, I would like to give you a peek into my family’s vacation that we took over the 4th of July week!

IMG_9264

Here’s my family. 6 of my 7 kids. Andrew couldn’t come because he had National Guard duties.

 

IMG_9265

There were 26 family members from 3 different states from Mike’s side of the family that met at St. George Island, Florida. Here are Mike’s parents with all of their grandkids except Andrew. The cousins had a blast reconnecting!

IMG_9174

My mom was also able to join us! Here we are with my sister-in-law, Kristen.

IMG_9171

We rented 3 different beach houses and spent the week having lots of fun together. Swimming, building sand castles and finding sea shells were our #1 activities.

 

IMG_9189

IMG_9229

Scarlet with her grandpa and cousin, Alyssa. She did catch 2 small fish this day.

IMG_9227

We drove to Apalachicola on my birthday to browse at the stores and grab a bite to eat. This quickly-moving storm was heading our way just as we were leaving town. Lots of lightning and high winds while going across the bridge!

IMG_9234

The best part of the trip was getting to spend quality time with Mike.

Now we’re home and back into the regular swing of life. This past week found me at the dentist office with Scarlet (again) and visiting many Iraqi friends that I haven’t gotten to see in a few months.

I am excited for some major events occurring over the next 2 weeks: a Congolese mother and daughter getting to be reunited after 9 years apart (7 of those years not knowing whether the other was alive or dead) and of traveling with my parents to Ft. Leonard Wood, Missouri to witness an Afghan friend graduate Army boot camp and be sworn in as an American citizen. Be on the lookout for a blog post highlighting these life-changing events!

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Fun on St. George Island

  1. Barbara Killion says:

    Once again Brenda, very well written! It was a very fun trip to Florida for sure. Thank you for inviting me and dad. Maybe next time he will be able to come along too.
    Love you LOTS,
    MOM

  2. Karen Ingle says:

    How fun to see these photos of family time! I’m glad you keep having such happy times in between all the valuable work you do. I pray that God continues to bless and strengthen your marriage.

  3. Thank-you, Karen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

