Welcome To My World

You may have noticed that I am an infrequent blogger. I have a lot I would like to say, but most of my thoughts remain hidden from cyberspace. I have always believed that if I am going to do something, I want to do a good job of it. Whatever I put my heart to, I am in it 100%. Blogging takes a backseat because of the busyness of my life. How busy can things be, you ask? I would like to share with you a little about my world.

As many of you know, I am married with a big family. I married my high school sweetheart, Mike, 22 years ago when I was just 18 years old. Together we have 7 kids and 2 grandkids.

family_kids

Summer 2016. All 7 kids together for a pic.

Andrew is 24 years old, has been married to Kristal for 5 years and they have 2 children. Alonzo is 3 and Celine is 2. Andrew served 4 years in the Navy and is now serving in the National Guard Reserves as well as finishing his degree in Criminal Justice. Kristal is the most amazing daughter-in-law I could ask for.

Tiffany is 19 and was married last year to Thomas whom our family has known for 14 years! It was a joy for our two families to be permanently linked together with this union. Thomas is also serving in National Guard.

Kaylie is 17, homeschooling and attending Community School of the Arts. She is hoping to graduate soon.

Isaac is 14, homeschooling and learning computer animation, as well as occasionally working with Mike.

Lillia is 12 and homeschooling. She also attends Community School of the Arts. Lillia and Isaac are active in the church youth group.

Josie, age 8, and Scarlet, age 6, attend elementary school and are doing great there. Last year when I made the decision to put them in public school, it was a big change for me. I had homeschooled my kids full-time for 16 years, but I couldn’t deny that I felt the Lord was beginning a new season in our lives. They are learning a lot at their school, have great teachers and I get to have lunch with them anytime I want. 😀

 

family2017

My Family May 2017

This past Fall (2016), I began classes with Johnson University, pursuing a degree in Intercultural Studies with an emphasis on ESL. I don’t know how long it will take me to get a Bachelor’s because I am only doing a part-time load. I almost did full-time courses, but opted not to because 1) I don’t want to go in debt and 2) I want to still have a life outside of school!

I am still very busy with refugee ministry and this is something that I love doing. Because of some unfortunate dealings and unjust situations that could not be resolved with the resettlement agency this past summer, I chose to separate myself from them after 2.5 years of extensive volunteering. This doesn’t mean that I’m dropping out of refugee advocacy by any means!  I continue doing what I’ve been doing– assisting refugees, befriending them, teaching them English– through my church and other community organizations. I like to keep my schedule open to accommodate unexpected needs– which usually occur on a weekly basis, either with my own family or my refugee family.

 

img_7403I am no longer on Facebook. I don’t do Instagram or Twitter or Pinterest. I try not to fret about the future of my country and I’ve found that taking a social media “fast” is peacefully therapeutic. However, I do keep myself updated with international news and remind  myself that for all of my country’s faults, my kids are being raised in relative ease and can go to sleep in peace without the worry of barrel bombs raining down on them in the middle of the night. My apologies for not faithfully keeping up with this blog. I am assuming you will understand why after reading this post. My days are busy, or I’d rather say, fruitful. If you have any questions about refugee advocacy, I would love to connect with you privately. You can email me at brenda.weatherly@yahoo.com. May God bless you!

.

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome To My World

  1. Karen Ingle says:

    Brenda, I would say you are a lady with her priorities straight. You’re making life-changing connections with real people, not just an “audience.” Leaving margin for the unexpected is something most people don’t do–and therefore a lot of good goes undone. God bless you and your beautiful family.

  2. Thanks so much, Karen! Leaving margin for the unexpected is something that has helped me to not experience burnout!

Leave a Reply

