Book Review: A Short Walk To The Edge Of Life

book“They say I’m crazy. That’s OK. I’m just curious and determined.”—From Scott Hubbartt’s diary, November 2, 2011. These are the words of a confident man who has had military training to endure the harshest of conditions. His confidence in himself nearly cost him his life.

“A Short Walk To The Edge Of Life” is the gripping account of Scott Hubbartt’s adventures in the remote back country of Peru. What began as a personal mission to rediscover a long-lost family gold mine turned almost deadly when Scott found himself desperately lost with no food or water. I found myself transported to the puna of Peru, to the harsh and barren canyons. I enjoyed Scott’s interjection of Spanish words with explanations throughout the book because it brought the story to life even more: descampado– “in the open air; exposed to wind and weather; a wasteland”- this is the word he used to describe the place he begins his trek.

Scott is a Christian and his faith is evident throughout the book with Bible verses and examples of the prayers that brought him through his ordeal. He believes that God allowed him to survive so that he can share his story with others. He challenges others to ask the questions: Does God have your full attention? Is your life counting in ways that matter to Him? Or is your relationship with God more about what you want to do with the time and resources you’ve been given than about following His will?

I read the book in 2 sittings; It was a quick, fairly easy read, yet at the same time, it had me on the edge of my seat throughout most of it. I think it would be especially enjoyable for those who love the outdoors. I let my dad, an avid hiker and nature enthusiast, borrow the book and he enjoyed it as much as I did.

“I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.”

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

