Book Review: Wrecked

I really intended to write the book review for ‘Wrecked: When A Broken World Slams Into Your Comfortable Life’ over a month ago, but with an out-of-state move, then a trip to another state to welcome my son home from deployment, and then my own car was wrecked because of an incident with a deer… well, book readings and reviews were put on hold. BUT I am settling back into my comfortable life and have time to write a review about why it’s bad to live a comfortable life. There was a little sarcasm in that.

The author of Wrecked, Jeff Goins, has written a book aimed at the Christian who has these top goals in mind: go to college, get a good job, get married, have a happy family and live a successful life. The premise is similar to other books I have read: Radical, The Irresistible Revolution, Crazy Love. Jeff challenges us to confront the world’s most difficult problems, to sacrifice for others and serve in uncomfortable situations, to go out on a limb and possibly even quit college (for a season) in order to ‘do something big for God’.

I enjoyed reading Jeff’s personal stories, of how he stepped out in faith to serve in dangerous places, to make decisions that may have seemed foolish to his friends. The fact that he has, himself, walked among the homeless and stepped out of his comfort zone has given this book the credibility it deserves.

Maybe because I have already read several books that have challenged me to live a radical life of adventure and surrender, I found this book’s style a little monotonous. I am thankful that Jeff has the boldness to shake the status quo among the college-aged scene (because I gathered from the book that it was written mainly for that age bracket) and I hope that many will take a chance with this book; it may be the best thing that will ever happen to them. However, the writing style seemed like an extended blog- which may be perfect for many readers- but for me, it got a little dry, especially when many paragraphs started with the phrases such as, “When we are young”, “When you get older”, “While you’re young”, “When I was in college”, “When I was about to graduate college”, “When I felt the call to be a missionary”…I may not have noticed this redundancy if it were spread out, but that above example was all within an 11-page spread (pgs. 140-151).

I hope that the reader reading this review will overlook my critical nature of the above paragraph because truly, this is a difficult book- in a good way. It reminded me that being surrounded by the poor, the destitute, the forgotten will create in me a heart of compassion and zeal- if I allow myself to be changed, to be wrecked, to be broken for God.

I received this book for free from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

 

 

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Wrecked

  1. Pingback: 2013 Book Reading Challenge: The End | All Things New

Leave a Reply

