2013-2014 Homeschool Schedule- 5 students?!

So it appears that another school year is just around the corner! Once again I set out to research and pray about what the Lord would want me to do for school. This will be my 14th year of homeschooling and you’d think that I have it down pat, but nope. I learn new things (read: we hit major bumps along the way) which makes it adventurous and daunting at the same time. Since Josie will begin Kindergarten, the Weatherly Home School will have 5 students this year, Kindergarten up to a Sophomore!

How do I homeschool so many grade levels and so many ages? I like to be organized, but I also don’t run our homeschool like a public school. I don’t have a perfect school room with desks and a chalkboard and a computer for each child. We spend a majority of our time in the living room. I do a lot of reading out loud- Bible time, historical fiction or biographies- while all of us sit on couches or the kids color around the coffee table. When someone has to do some quiet, independent work, they may go to the dining room table or to their own room.

I like to think that my children are being educated, not necessarily schooled. While I personally thrive on order, I want all of us to be relaxed and not forced to operate on a schedule. Routines are great, but in the past when I tried to stick to a rigid schedule, I got burned-out, the kids got burned-out; basically, we were all tense and learning was not fun. When subjects ran according to a time schedule, I was constantly watching the clock and hurrying the pace along. If something didn’t get done in time, there was an underlying sense of failure. Now that I use routines instead of schedules, I know what’s next on the list and I have the flexibility to spend more time on something if we enjoy what we are doing.

A book that helped me immensely when I first began homeschooling was Educating The Wholehearted Child. That is where I first heard the term ‘living book’ and I was determined to use living books over textbooks in homeschooling whenever possible. I want to raise confident, creative, self-directed learners, not necessarily brainiacs (if there is such a word). If I give my children the keys for a love of learning, then they will excel in whatever the Lord has placed in their hearts.

If you are new to homeschooling or are thinking of homeschooling in the future, I’d love to help if there are any questions you may have!

2013-2014 Homeschool Schedule

Work At Home

Tiffany (15)

Kaylie (13)

Isaac (11)

Lillia (9)

Josie (5)

Family Bible

Family Bible

Family Bible

Family Bible

Family Bible

Teaching Textbooks Algebra/

Geometry

Teaching Textbooks

Pre-Algebra

Teaching Textbooks

6th grade Math

Teaching Textbooks

5th grade Math

Horizons

K Math

Critical Thinking

Critical Thinking

Critical Thinking

Critical Thinking

Critical Thinking

Rosetta Stone Spanish

Rosetta Stone Spanish

Sequential Spelling

Sequential Spelling

Alpha Phonics

Sonlight Eastern Hemisphere

Sonlight Eastern Hemishphere

Sonlight Eastern Hemisphere

Sonlight Eastern Hemisphere

Sonlight Eastern Hemisphere

Classic Books & Study Guides

Classic Books & Study Guides

Writing Strands

Writing Strands

Explode The Code

Switched On Schoolhouse Civics

 Homeschool Co-op on Tuesdays:

Tiffany (15)

Kaylie (13)

Isaac (11)

Lillia (9)

Josie (5)

General Science Lab

General Science Lab

Apologia-

 Land Animals Of The Sixth Day

Apologia-

Land Animals Of The Sixth Day

Kindergarten class

Martyrs & Missionaries

(1 quarter)

Martyrs & Missionaries

 (1 quarter)

Archery

Archery

Social Dance

 (1 quarter)

Art & Music Appreciation

(1semester)

Current Events

Current Events

Art Technique

(1 quarter)

Sewing

(1 quarter)

World Geography & Cultures

Writing

Computer Programming & Design

(1 quarter)

Drama

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2013-2014 Homeschool Schedule- 5 students?!

  1. Pingback: All Things New, Again | All Things New

  2. rania says:

    I’m really impressed by your great effort with your kids. I have two kids.the older is 4 years now. I read about homeschooling and I’m sure it’s a lot more beneficial for them but I’m not sure I can do it on my own. I’m afraid of bearing the responsibility of their future!

    Another point is that in my country everything depends on the certificates you hold even if you don’t how to write your name.

    hesitant and unable to decide.

    • Thank-you for your compliment. 🙂
      I believe that a mother knows what is best for her child, even more so than trained teachers. Sometimes trained teachers are good and helpful, other times children fall behind because they are either not being taught properly or because they are not thriving emotionally at school.
      There are a number of things you need to think of before homeschooling. If I waited to begin homeschooling my children until I was ‘perfect’ and confident, I never would have started. There will always be fears and uncertainty, each year brings new challenges, but I look past those fears that are not from God and I simply step out in faith, in obedience to what God has told me to do. I still make mistakes and my children know I am not perfect, but we are learning together and we are a stronger family because of the time I spend with them.

      About your second point, certificates: I am not sure what the laws are in your country, but in my country, a homeschool graduate has the same rights and opportunities as a public school graduate. If your oldest is only 4, you don’t have to necessarily worry about high school or university certificates yet; Don’t think about 10 or 15 years from now. Think about, “What is best for my child at this stage of his life?” Homeschooling does not have to be permanent. You can give it a try and if it does not work out, at least you know you did your best and you have other options.

      If I can support you in any other way, please let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

