Free eBooks- Narratives on Slavery

I love reading, mostly non-fiction and some of my most favorite books to read are autobiographies and narratives. I was delighted to find on Amazon that there are numerous free eBooks on slavery narratives. If you have a Kindle, I highly recommend any of these eBooks!

Today I started (and finished) Louis Hughes’ autobiography about his Thirty Years As A Slave. I was literally glued to this book as if it were a suspenseful thriller. The brutalities that Louis Hughes endured at the hands of his master were terrible. His twin babies died at a young age because of neglect and malnutrition since their mother was required to work such long hours. I loved how Louis escaped during the Civil War and of his retelling of the huge celebrations in Memphis once his family arrived there with the other thousands of freed slaves. Despite 30 years of slavery, Louis showed forgiveness for the slaveowner and his family because of his deep Christian faith.

Incidents In The Life Of A Slave Girl, Written By Herself was another one I devoured quickly. The heartbreaking story told by Harriet Ann Jacobs of her life as a slave is one of the few slave narratives written by a woman. Her daring attempts at escape, once hiding in an attic for several years, showed the extreme measure of courage that she was willing to take in order to make a better life for herself.

Not a narrative, yet a book that I will never forget and a timeless classic, Uncle Tom’s Cabin. This book has changed history, yet so many have never read it. I was an emotional wreck during the time I read it, but then again, what else is new? My oldest daughter will probably blackmail me one of these days and post a video she secretly taped of me sobbing while reading a book about modern-day slavery.

Next on my list to read:

Narrative Of The Life Of Frederick Douglass

Booker T. Washington’s autobiography Up From Slavery has been read by generations of Americans and should be required reading by every high schooler.

Running A Thousand Miles For Freedom

Slave Narratives: A Folk History Of Slavery In The United States From Interviews With Former Slaves From Mississippi

Any other free non-fiction eBooks you want to recommend? Let me know!

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

