Book Review: I Am That I Am: Tracing The Footprints Of God

I Am That I AmI really hate to write reviews that aren’t fully positive, but alas, it must be done sometimes and this is one of those books.

I Am That I Am: Tracing The Footprints Of God was a book that I was excited to request through the BookCrash Book Review Program for bloggers, yet when I received the book and began reading it, I quickly discovered that this was more of a reference book than a book to read straight through from beginning to end. Still, I wanted to ensure that I was being fair with the review, so I continued on.

I Am That I Am goes into great detail about “the covenants God has placed humanity under since creation, through all of Jesus’ parabolic teachings on the kingdom of God, and in all of the written accounts of the miracles He accomplished through the visible manifestation of Himself in Jesus Christ”. On almost every page the author quotes other sources or Bible teachers and gives extensive Bible references. It is a huge undertaking as the Table of Contents alone is 6 pages long.

I was hoping to be able to use it in homeschool studies with my 2 oldest children (ages 13 and 15), but because it was almost too difficult for me to follow along with, I realized that I would not be able to use this for our homesechool Bible time. I believe it would have been better to be more clear in the description of the book for readers to know that this is not a typical Bible study book but more of a reference selection. To be honest, the book was somewhat tedious and dry for me, but I have to mellow this opinion with the fact that this book may be an excellent edition to the library of a Bible scholar or theology teacher. It is a vast, biblically-sound work and the author must be congratulated for putting so much effort into all of the details.

The cover is beautiful, however there are images inside the book that are grainy and pixelated to the point that it would have been better not to have included them.

Overall, I would give this book a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

