Ramblings About Injustice, Compassion And Peace

Life is a journey. There are different paths and changing seasons, but one thing is certain: There is an end in sight. Some days I want this journey to continue for a long time so that  I can see my grandchildren raise their children. Then there are days that are a struggle and I pray that Jesus will come quickly.

injured boyMy son is still deployed on an amphibious assault ship with a few thousand Marines. I found out yesterday that they are now stationed off the shore of Egypt because of the political crisis that the country is experiencing. I know that my son is in the Lord’s hands and more than likely, no military action will development, but still, it turns my eyes to other parts of this world where political unrest or humanitarian crises are the norm. And when I remember those who are suffering, those who are living without peace (physical and spiritual), I want to forget.

I want to forget all the tears shed today because an innocent young boy was wounded in a gun battle that he does not understand. I want to forget the mother who has no more tears to cry because she buried yet another child who slowly withered away due to malnutrition. I want to forget the pre-teen girl who was forced into prostitution in order to survive. I want to forget. And yet, I don’t.

Some children in Ghana that my daughter met.

Some children in Ghana that my daughter met.

If I purposely overlook injustice, I am the one at fault. Of course, I cannot solve every problem in the world. I cannot eradicate child prostitution or find a way to feed every starving infant. That is not the point and I am weary of hearing people use that excuse to choose to remain passive about huge problems. The bottom line is that I want my children to develop a heart of compassion and mercy. The only way for that to happen is if I teach them to serve others more than themselves.

This is not as easy as it sounds especially if they have a mother who looks out for her own interests rather than the interests of others.

So, I find myself in a battle and praying this prayer:

May I cast aside all pride, vanity and deceit so that I can be molded into the simple, humble child that my Father has asked me to be.

If I think that there is any goodness in me, may I think that there is even more in others.

May the longing in my heart for “more” never be satisfied with perishing objects of this world, but rather only in Him who is able to fulfill the ache in my heart.

May my load be light enough that I can follow Jesus at a moment’s notice if that is what He so desires.

May the only burdens I carry be the burdens the Lord places on my heart- burdens for the lonely, the lost, the misfits and rejects, the orphans, the neglected, the abused and abandoned.

May this journey I am on not be merely about ‘self’ and my own life. No, may I seek first His kingdom and His righteousness. Then my paths will be made clear and Jesus will be glorified. Only in Him will there be true peace.

cross-rejoice

 

“In Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.”- John 16:33

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

