2013 Book Challenge Check-In

To help me be more accountable to my 48-book reading challenge, every two months I am going to review which books I’ve read with a brief summary of my thoughts.

January Summary: I LOVED Little Women! I’m glad that I finally read it! I also LOVED Love and Respect! Excellent marriage book, if you’re looking for one. Barbara Kingsolver’s essays were a 50/50 for me. I love her writing style, but she is a little too left-leaning for me in some areas. Grace For The Good Girl had some gems in there; I’d give it 3 stars. 

February Summary: Helen Keller’s autobiography was so inspiring. I definitely recommend her story to anyone. A Crime So Monstrous was an eye-opening introduction to modern-day slavery in many different countries around the world. Very sad book, but I am so glad I became more aware of this atrocity. Highly recommended. Seven Habits of Highly Effective Families- Loved most of it. Some of it I skimmed over. I liked the Emotional Bank Account comparison (making positive deposits into our children’s lives, like a bank account). Cleaning House was funny, but I’d give it between a 2.5-3 stars just because I didn’t get too much out of it in the long run. The Briarpatch Gospel was a definite bomb for me. Lots of unbiblical advice and examples. It was the first book review I had posted and the author even contacted me, with nice words, but I felt bad that I had to give it such a bad review…Maybe I shouldn’t have felt bad, but still, kinda awkward!

About Brenda Weatherly

Christian wife and mother to 7 children. Board of Directors at Center of Light, Team Leader of Woodlawn Refugee Ministry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

